SQL Server Performance

BYO Computer

Discussion in 'EditorsBlog' started by shanetasker, Sep 11, 2008.

1. shanetasker New Member

In the past it was expected that organisations would supply staff with stationary supplies such as notepads and pens. Times have changed and now very few companies supply stationary anymore. This could be because of cost saving measures, but I think it has more to do with the fact that computers have taken over from pens and pencils as the writing implement of choice.
    As a consultant I always supply my own computer equipment and software when onsite with customers. While onsite with a customer today I started to think about how laptops have become so prevalent and that they are no longer a device restricted to the workplace. You can now purchase a laptop for less than $500 and it will perform all the tasks that the majority of users require such as e-mail and word processing. I always find that when I use my own computer I am much more productive as it has all the tools that I need and is configured just the way that I like it. So I wonder how long it will be until companies stop supplying staff with a laptop and they bring their own much the same way that staff today often supply their own stationary?
    - Peter Ward
  2. Greg Larsen New Member