SQL Server Performance

Concatenating and casting in SQL MGT Studio 2005...

Discussion in 'SQL Server 2005 General DBA Questions' started by Akonicov, Dec 14, 2010.

1. Akonicov New Member

Is it me or do query speeds tend to slow wayyyy down when there is casting and concatenating involved?
    In my job (I'm a data analyst not a programmer), I have to create unique "key"s quite often.
    I find that the following types of queries really slow me down:
    where cast (x as varchar) + cast (y as varchar) not in
    cast (x as varchar)+(cast y as varchar))...
    Do you guys notice this as well? I can post my entire query, but I dont think its necessary.
    Any help is appreciated!
    BTW, if any SQL experts are in the NE area and looking for work, please call me cell phone 781-775-6393. Job's based in RI. We are in a dire need of a SQL expert and we pay very well.
  2. Adriaan New Member

Concatenation and casting is killing your performance because they are used within filter criteria, where it is always better to use straight values. The idea is that the database engine will perform best when it can use indexes or statistics. As soon as your criteria need to manipulate data with functions, those indexes and statistics become useless.
    Given your example, you can use a LEFT JOIN with a NULL criteria, like this:

SELECT t1.x, t1.y
    FROM t1 LEFT JOIN t2 ON t1.x = t2.x AND t1.y = t2.y
    WHERE t2.x IS NULL
    Alternatively, you could use a correlated subquery in a NOT EXISTS clause, like this:
    SELECT t1.x, t1.y
    FROM t1
    WHERE NOT EXISTS (SELECT t2.* FROM t2 WHERE t2.x =t1.x AND t2.y = t1.y)
    ... but NOT EXISTS can be a poor performer - a lot will depend on the actual data (matches vs. non-matches.
    In any case, since we know nothing about the actual table design (especially indexes) it is hard to predict if this approach gives you all the improvement that may yet be attainable.
  3. Akonicov New Member