SQL Server Performance

Could Not Find Stored Procedure

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by BarbG, Jul 2, 2009.

1. BarbG New Member

Hello All,
    I am trying to create a test database on a server which I recently upgraded to SP 4 for SQL Server 2005. I can usually do this by creating a blank database and then restoring a backup of the production database to it. Now, however, I get the following message: "Create failed for Database XXXX... Could not find stored procedure 'sp_MSreplicationcompatlevel'... Microsoft SQL Server, Error: 2812". This sp exists in the production master db but is missing from my test master db. I have tried running the sp in a query in Management Studio but it doesn't work. I am new to all of this and am hoping for a relatively easy way to get that sp into my test master db; is this possible??
    Thank you in advance!
    Barb
  2. FrankKalis Moderator

Welcome to the forum!
    As far as I'm aware there is no SP4 for SQL Server 2005, There is however one for SQL Server 2000.
    Are you by any chance trying to restore a SQL Server 2005 backup on a SQL Server 2000 box? If so, this won't work. I would porbably script out the database schema, apply it to a blank database on the test server and then use SSIS to transfer the data. But actually it really would be better if both test and production environment are very similar with respect to hardware, server version and patch level.
  3. BarbG New Member

Thank you, Frank!
    No, my mistake, it was SP 4 for SQL Server 2000; both exist on that server.
    I get the error message when I attempt to create the blank database. It's there with system tables but not much else. I have no experience with scripting database schemas or using SSIS. Where could I go for instructions?
    I don't see my name in the list of users for the blank database. Would this have anything to do with my problem?
    Thanks,
    Barb
  4. Adriaan New Member

New db-s are based on the model system db.