SQL Server Performance

Create Replication on snap of other server

Discussion in 'SQL Server 2005 Replication' started by reethu, Apr 3, 2007.

  1. reethu New Member

    Hi all,
    DEV Server has been built on snap of UAT Server.now i need to confugure transactional replication on DEV Sever, how could i can configure replication.when i try to create publication this is error massage.Would any one give quick reply that will be great appreciation

    TITLE: Publisher Properties
    ------------------------------

    An error occurred connecting to Publisher 'DEV'.

    For help, click:http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink?Prod...rSR&EvtID=CantConnectToPublisher&LinkId=20476

    ------------------------------
    ADDITIONAL INFORMATION:

    SQL Server replication requires the actual server name to make a connection to the server. Connections through a server alias, IP address, or any other alternate name are not supported. Specify the actual server name, UAT'. (Replication.Utilities)

    ------------------------------
    BUTTONS:

    OK



    SRJ2005
  2. MohammedU New Member

    Please post the output of the following...


    SELECT CONVERT(char(20), SERVERPROPERTY('servername')) servername,
    CONVERT(char(20), SERVERPROPERTY('MachineName')) MachineName,
    CONVERT(char(20), SERVERPROPERTY('InstanceName')) InstanceName


    MohammedU.
    Moderator
    SQL-Server-Performance.com

    All postings are provided “AS IS” with no warranties for accuracy.
  3. reethu New Member

    servername MachineName InstanceName
    -------------------- -------------------- --------------------
    SERVER A SERVER A NULL

    SRJ2005
  4. reethu New Member

    Actually this problem is happening this way i forgot to give small piece of information to get complete idea,when i right click on replication folder and select new punlication immidiatly it is throwing the error what i sent to you.

    SRJ2005
  5. MohammedU New Member

    Run select @@servername, it may be different than the actual server name....


    MohammedU.
    Moderator
    SQL-Server-Performance.com

    All postings are provided “AS IS” with no warranties for accuracy.
  6. satya Moderator

    ALso look at ping of that server if it is hosted on another server, ensure to have the alias too.

    Satya SKJ
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    Writer, Contributing Editor & Moderator
    http://www.SQL-Server-Performance.Com
    This posting is provided AS IS with no rights for the sake of knowledge sharing. The greatest discovery of my generation is that a human being can alter his life by altering his attitudes of mind.
  7. reethu New Member

    When i ran @@servername,yes it is showing diffrent name from the original.in this case we cannot create repliction,is there any way to do this.or i can stop my research on this.
    or give some idea how we can explain this situation to manager.

    SRJ2005
  8. reethu New Member

    satya may i know how to find ping and alias name please.

    SRJ2005
  9. MohammedU New Member

    quote:Originally posted by reethu

    When i ran @@servername,yes it is showing diffrent name from the original.in this case we cannot create repliction,is there any way to do this.or i can stop my research on this.
    or give some idea how we can explain this situation to manager.

    SRJ2005

    In that case run the following...

    exec sp_dropserver 'servername'
    go
    exec sp_addserver 'newservername', 'local'
    go
    --restart sql services
    go
    select @@servername ---you should get the right name...
    -- and try to setup replication...


    MohammedU.
    Moderator
    SQL-Server-Performance.com

    All postings are provided “AS IS” with no warranties for accuracy.
  10. reethu New Member

    in that case what precautions i should take before do it. because i am newbe for this situation.

    SRJ2005
  11. MohammedU New Member

    Based on the information, I think you people renamed the server.
    You don't need to any precautions...
    if you want you can change it back...by using the same procedures...


    MohammedU.
    Moderator
    SQL-Server-Performance.com

    All postings are provided “AS IS” with no warranties for accuracy.
  12. reethu New Member

    when i did that i got this error
    Msg -1073741769, Level 20, State 0, Line 0
    A transport-level error has occurred when sending the request to the server. (provider: Shared Memory Provider, error: 1 - I/O Error detected in read/write operation)


    SRJ2005
  13. MohammedU New Member

    If SSMS looses the connection to sql server or sql server restarted you may get this kind of error...

    Make sure you have connected properly...



    MohammedU.
    Moderator
    SQL-Server-Performance.com

    All postings are provided “AS IS” with no warranties for accuracy.
  14. reethu New Member

    when i issue this statement i got the following error.what i could do for this .
    exec sp_dropserver 'red-SQL2'.
    Msg 20582, Level 16, State 1, Procedure sp_MSrepl_check_server, Line 31
    Cannot drop server 'INJ-SQL2' because it is used as a Publisher in replication
    Actually we have red-sql2 and red-sql3.but we have problems with red-sql3.
    red-sql3 built from snap of red-sql2,when we issue @@servername on red-sql3 that returns server name red-sql2.



    SRJ2005
  15. MohammedU New Member

    Then you have to remove the replication from red-sql3...
    Using the following article if you can't remove the replication with GUI...

    How to manually remove a replication in SQL Server 2000 or in SQL Server 2005
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/324401

    Once replication is removed then use the sp_dropserver and sp_addserver procedure to change the server name...
    Restart the sql server
    Reconfigure replication...


    MohammedU.
    Moderator
    SQL-Server-Performance.com

    All postings are provided “AS IS” with no warranties for accuracy.
  16. MohammedU New Member

    Reethu,
    It will be very useful if we get the solution to resolve your issue...


    MohammedU.
    Moderator
    SQL-Server-Performance.com

    All postings are provided “AS IS” with no warranties for accuracy.
  17. satya Moderator

    Will MS Support is a good option now to see whats happening?

    Satya SKJ
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    Writer, Contributing Editor & Moderator
    http://www.SQL-Server-Performance.Com
    This posting is provided AS IS with no rights for the sake of knowledge sharing. The greatest discovery of my generation is that a human being can alter his life by altering his attitudes of mind.
  18. reethu New Member

    i am sorry actually i was working on to remove the publication but it is used by different site location big heads are working on that, i donot know exactly when they come back to me.
    thanks for your intrest.

    SRJ2005
  19. reethu New Member

    Hi guys actually when i tried to drop server and recreate got error as i mensiond above we asking dev team 2 hours down time to do it because to drop publication and recreate it ,so it is on hold .once i done i post it.
    thanks.









    SRJ2005
  20. reethu New Member

    waiting for downtime.

    SRJ2005
  21. MohammedU New Member

    I don't think you need down time to drop and recreate publication.


    MohammedU.
    Moderator
    SQL-Server-Performance.com

    All postings are provided “AS IS” with no warranties for accuracy.
  22. satya Moderator

    Its a best to ask Dev.team to stop working until fix the problem, that way you can get the things down but as explained you need not any single-user mode to work.

    Satya SKJ
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    Writer, Contributing Editor & Moderator
    http://www.SQL-Server-Performance.Com
    This posting is provided AS IS with no rights for the sake of knowledge sharing. The greatest discovery of my generation is that a human being can alter his life by altering his attitudes of mind.

Share This Page