SQL Server Performance

difference between user and logins

Discussion in 'SQL Server 2005 General Developer Questions' started by shankbond, Sep 17, 2009.

1. shankbond New Member

HI,
    I am new to sql. can any one please tell what is a login and what is a user in sql server 2005, I am unable to differentiate between them[:mad:]
  2. rohit2900 Member

3. shankbond New Member

[quote user="rohit2900"]Tell me if this helps.[/quote]
    Hi rohit,
    both of the links are great for noobs[Y]
  4. shankbond New Member

[quote user="rohit2900"]Tell me if this helps.[/quote]
    Hi Rohit,
    now after a brief and good understanding of users and logins I would like to create a login and map a user to it to access a specific database and give him rights to only use select statements to a specific table.
    database= tester
    table=table1
    please guide me
    I searched the google there are a few msdn links but they are too much for a newbie.
  5. FrankKalis Moderator

USE master;
    GO
    IF SUSER_ID('your login name here ') IS NULL
    BEGIN
    CREATE LOGIN [your login name here] FROM WINDOWS; --change this if you want a SQL authenticated login
    GRANT CONNECT SQL TO [your login name here];
    END

USE <your database>
    GO

IF DATABASE_PRINCIPAL_ID('your user name here') IS NULL
    CREATE USER [your user name here] FOR LOGIN [your login name here];
    IF DATABASE_PRINCIPAL_ID('Testers') IS NULL
    CREATE ROLE [Testers] AUTHORIZATION [dbo];
    EXEC sys.sp_addrolemember 'Testers, 'your user name here';
    GRANT SELECT on table1 TO Testers;

6. shankbond New Member

First of all thanks again for the help related to links by Rohit and Frank for the help he provided regarding users and logins, roles etc.
    here are the things I understand now after executing the above code given by Frank:
    1: SUSER_ID : is the identification number generated when we create a user.