SQL Server Performance

Disk Resource Not Present in Cluster Administrator

Discussion in 'SQL Server 2005 Clustering' started by JJeffers, Nov 28, 2007.

1. JJeffers New Member

I am new to MS and SQL clustering so please bear with me.
    We had an existing 2 node Windows 2003 Enterprise x64 and SQL 2005 (default instance) cluster connected to a SAN (S:) data drive and a SAN (Q:) quorum drive. I recently added another node to the Windows cluster that has connections to the original SAN S: drive and Q: drive as well as another SAN data drive (R: separate data volume). When I attempted to install an additional instance of SQL 2005 to reside on the R: drive, I get to the point in the installation to select the resource group (also created a new SQL Server Group) I receive the message that there is no Physical Disk drive available in the New SQL Server group. I have tried to create a new resource for the R: drive in the Cluster Administrator but there is no drive resource to select, or move into the new SQL Server group. I am attempting to create an Active/Active/Passive Cluster the the original Active Node and the New Active Node can both fail over to the Passive node. Do I need to create a connection to the new Data Volume (R:) on all nodes in order for the Physical Disk Resource to appear in the Cluster Administrator? I am stuck right now unable to complete the SQL Server install for the new instance until I can get this resource to appear in the Cluster Administrator. I have been unsuccessful so far in locating information on making this resource available. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Thank You,
    Jason
  2. melvinlusk Member

Did you add the R: drive as a dependency for the SQL Server service in Cluster Administrator?
  3. JJeffers New Member