SQL Server Performance

Do You RSS?

Discussion in 'EditorsBlog' started by shanetasker, Sep 15, 2008.

1. shanetasker New Member

I read a comment on a blog today that very few people in IT that are classified as IT professionals subscribe to RSS feeds, whereas those that are classified as developers subscribe to RSS feeds. Personally, I would consider a DBA to be classified as both an IT professional and a developer. I think a good DBA is someone who not only understands how infrastructure impacts the database but also understands how applications access data. I have met plenty of DBAs that do not know the impact that different versions of RAID has on a transaction log and I have also met plenty of DBAs that do not know how to optimise ADO performance. So what type of DBA are you classified as, or do you sit in the middle between IT professional and developer?
    - Peter Ward
  2. beachbum714 New Member

I've been a developer for the 17 of the past 26 years. I finally changed careers to being a DBA last summer and also as a Sys Admin last winter. At this point in time I haven't done a thing with RSS but guess I ought to look into it.
  3. ibsteve2u New Member