SQL Server Performance

DTC in an Active/Active Cluster

Discussion in 'SQL Server 2005 Clustering' started by kevin.shipley, Oct 5, 2007.

1. kevin.shipley New Member

I have an active/active setup with 3 groups. Two SQL Groups and one cluster group that also contains the DTC. I am 99% sure that I setup everything correctly and everything appears to be running fine. The issue is that in SQL Mgmt Studio, the instance that is running on the physical node that owns the Cluster group (therefor has the DTC) shows the Distributed Transaction Coordinator as online. The instance running on the other node show it as offline. Is this correct behavior? I am not a SQL Expert, and know enough to get things up and running and maintain them. Thanks in advance!
  2. satya Moderator

Welcome to the forum.
    Have you checked whether SQL has been installed without any errors on both the nodes?
    I believe it may be not, MSDTC should be in it's own group separate from the other cluster groups. Read this article for details http://support.microsoft.com/kb/301600/en-us fyi
  3. kevin.shipley New Member

The summary.txt shows "successful" for everything. I have not looked through the detailed logs yet. There are a lot of logs, any idea which log problems associated with MSDTC would be in?
  4. satya Moderator

Best one to go with Cluster log in addition to SQL & Eventivewer logs.
  5. kevin.shipley New Member

I found two of these in the event log:
    The MS DTC service was started before the cluster service on this cluster node. This service will now be stopped. If MSDTC has been configured to run on a cluster, the MS DTC resource will be brought online by the cluster service when it starts. Error Specifics: d:srvrtmcomcomplusdtcsharedmtxclumtxclusetuphelper.cpp:932, Pid: 3192, CmdLine: "C:WINDOWScluster
    esrcmon.exe" -e 1328 -m 1332 -p 2720