SQL Server Performance

DTS

Discussion in 'SQL Server DTS-Related Questions' started by bensta, Jul 25, 2003.

1. bensta New Member

I am really new to DTS. I am trying to export data from an access database to a SQL Serve 7.0 database. I am trying to import data from tables one table at the time. I am using query within the data transformation wizard. I followed all the steps. I made sure that destination fields map with source fields under the transformation sercion. It is not importing data. FK constaint erros messages each time. What is tha I am doing wrong? What is the easiest way? If my relationships for my tables are defined in my SQL Serve Database could be the reason why I am getting problems with imports?
    Thank you for your help in advance

Tarik Bensehil
  2. gaurav_bindlish New Member

When you insert data into SQL Server tables bound by Foreign key constraints, you have to insert the data in the dependent tables first. This means if A is dependent on B, you have to insert in B first and then A.

Gaurav
    Man thrives, oddly enough, only in the presence of a challenging environment- L. Ron Hubbard
  3. bensta New Member

Thank you very mcuh. I really appreciate your help.
    If I may, is there any way could populate tables without doing it one table at the time without having to worry about foriegn keys constraints?
    Thank you and have a wonderful weekend
    Bensta

Tarik Bensehil
  4. gaurav_bindlish New Member

You'll have to drop all the foreign key / Check constraints from the table for doing so. Also all the triggers need to be disabled. I would not recommend this option.

Gaurav
    Man thrives, oddly enough, only in the presence of a challenging environment- L. Ron Hubbard
  5. bensta New Member

I followed your instructions, but I am still having errors messages poping up.
    I have my relationships between my tables defined in SQl Server Database. The tables have no records.