SQL Server Performance

Enterprise vs. Standard Edition and Mirroring

Discussion in 'SQL Server 2005 Database Mirroring' started by Tre, Aug 28, 2007.

1. Tre New Member

Hi, I am setting up a mirroring session between a clustered SQL 2005 Enterprise edition, and a non-clustered SQL 2005 Standard edition. I would like to utilize the high performance option, but I see that it is only available for the Enterprise edition. If my principal is Enterprise edition, can I still utilize the high performance option with a mirror that is on SQL 2005 Standard edition? I am in a time crunch and hoping to avoid an uninstall of SQL 2005 std and reinstall of the Enterprise edition. Thanks for any advice.
    I'm a relative newbie, so please don't assume much
  2. thomas New Member

Both the principal and the mirror should be the same edition, I believe. you don't need to license the mirror.

For high perf mode both definitely must be EE.
  3. Tre New Member

Thanks for your reply Thomas. I had hoped to utilize a separate server for my mirror. Please let me know how if the following scenario seems like a legitimate solution.
    I have a clustered instance of SQL 2005 on Windows 2003 servers. I would like to create a downtime (standby) copy of my production database for view only use for an application that was developed by a vendor.
    Could I mirror my production database to a copy of the database on the same instance, on the cluster? The database would obviously need a new name, and would have to utilize a different port for TCP. I could store this copied database on a different drive that is setup on our SAN so I am not sharing the same disk for it. I believe the cluster would build in enough hardware redundancy. When I need to modify my production database with scripts to update the application, I could easily switch over to my standby database to allow view only and to minimize downtime.