SQL Server Performance

Existing DTS Designer graphical interface is blank

Discussion in 'SQL Server DTS-Related Questions' started by sax1964, Jan 11, 2006.

  1. sax1964 New Member

    <br /><br /><br />Existing DTS Designer graphical interface is blank when viewing packages remotely. I can view the packages on the server but not using the Enterprise Manager remotely. How can I correct this? [<img src='/community/emoticons/emotion-6.gif' alt=':(' />]<br /><br />1/24/2005<br />Uninstalled, reinstalled, upgraded service packs, rebooted, upgraded MDAC and nothing worked. I still get the DTS console window with nothing but the standard menu bar ( not the DTS menu bar)<br /><br />Thanks anyway!! Any other suggestions?
  2. Luis Martin Moderator

    Welcome to the Forum.!
    EM is a gui tools and very slow.
    First time or did you see graphical interface before?


    Luis Martin
    Moderator
    SQL-Server-Performance.com

    Although nature commences with reason and ends in experience it is necessary for us to do the opposite, that is to commence with experience and from this to proceed to investigate the reason.
    Leonardo Da Vinci

    Nunca esperes el reconocimiento de tus hijos, eso ocurrirá luego de tu muerte


    All postings are provided “AS IS” with no warranties for accuracy.



  3. satya Moderator

    May be a problem with client tools, try from another machine or remotely logging on to the server.
    Also ensure the login used has required privileges to perform the action.

    Satya SKJ
    Contributing Editor & Forums Moderator
    http://www.SQL-Server-Performance.Com
    This posting is provided “AS IS” with no rights for the sake of knowledge sharing.
  4. sax1964 New Member

    EM Worked before. This just started happening. Now I have to log onto the server to access any DTS packages.


    quote:Originally posted by LuisMartin

    Welcome to the Forum.!
    EM is a gui tools and very slow.
    First time or did you see graphical interface before?


    Luis Martin
    Moderator
    SQL-Server-Performance.com

    Although nature commences with reason and ends in experience it is necessary for us to do the opposite, that is to commence with experience and from this to proceed to investigate the reason.
    Leonardo Da Vinci

    Nunca esperes el reconocimiento de tus hijos, eso ocurrirá luego de tu muerte


    All postings are provided “AS IS” with no warranties for accuracy.




  5. satya Moderator

    Try replacing the client tools on that machine and also try applying service pack to the client tools.

    Satya SKJ
    Contributing Editor & Forums Moderator
    http://www.SQL-Server-Performance.Com
    This posting is provided “AS IS” with no rights for the sake of knowledge sharing.
  6. emamuthu New Member

    Check for the free space on the remote client machine..this has happend to me whenever i tried to open the big dts package & when there is very less space the package won't open .

    Check the space for the local drive...

    Muthu
  7. sax1964 New Member

    Tried that; I uninstalled, reinstalled, upgraded service packs, rebooted, upgraded MDAC and nothing worked. I still get the DTS console window with nothing but the standard menu bar ( not the DTS menu bar)<br /><br />Thanks anyway!! Any other suggestions?<br />[<img src='/community/emoticons/emotion-6.gif' alt=':(' />]<br /><blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by satya</i><br /><br />Try replacing the client tools on that machine and also try applying service pack to the client tools.<br /><br /><hr noshade size="1"><b>Satya SKJ</b><br />Contributing Editor & Forums Moderator<br /<a target="_blank" href=http://www.SQL-Server-Performance.Com>http://www.SQL-Server-Performance.Com</a><br /><center><font color="teal"><font size="1">This posting is provided “AS IS” with no rights for the sake of <i>knowledge sharing.</i></font id="size1"></font id="teal"></center><br /><hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></font id="quote"></blockquote id="quote">
  8. sax1964 New Member

    1/24/2005
    Uninstalled, reinstalled, upgraded service packs, rebooted, upgraded MDAC and nothing worked. I still get the DTS console window with nothing but the standard menu bar ( not the DTS menu bar)

    Thanks anyway!! Any other suggestions?
  9. sax1964 New Member

    1/27/2005<br />Uninstalled, reinstalled using a different install disk, upgraded service pack to sp3a, rebooted and <br /><b>"<u>IT WORKED</u>"</b>.<br /><br /><b>Thank You All for your Suggestions!![<img src='/community/emoticons/emotion-2.gif' alt=':D' />]</b><br /><br />Now I have a new problem to be posted later. When I use the SQL Enterprise Manager (SEM) Return All Rows option to open a table, or you attempt to create or design a view, I get the following error: <br /><br /><center><font color="red"><u><b>An unexpected error happened during this operation.</b></u></font id="red"></center><br /><br />Any suggestions[?]

Share This Page