SQL Server Performance

get rid of bookmark lookup?

Discussion in 'Performance Tuning for DBAs' started by flasponge, Jan 29, 2003.

1. flasponge New Member

Hello,
    i am a programmer by trade but have been pulled into a DB issue with SQL Server 2K. We have a database agnostic custom application which executes the below query per GUI refresh (quite often). It is a 3 table join with the following tables:

FYI_WORKFLOW (10K rows)
    FYI_SYSDATA (19K rows)
    FYI_WFWORKLIST (100K rows)

The customer has given us an execution plan as follows. We have added some indexes yet they are still seeing some 20-30 sec execution times on this query and it will only get worse as more items come into this OLTP system.
    I have attached the query execution plan (txt file, easiest way to view is via QueryAnalyzer)....Any help or comments would be greatly appreciated.
    unfortunately, the company I work for has no DBA's on staff....

jason.doyle@identitech.com

Thanks
    Query

http://rdjasondoyle.identitech.com/Music/report012103b.txt
  2. Chappy New Member

can you supply the actual query? its difficult to see how the execution plan can be improved when its not accompanied by the query
  3. flasponge New Member

Yes, I am sorry for not supplying that, you can find the actual query, the indexes on the table and the table definition at the following location:

http://rdjasondoyle.identitech.com/Music/TableInfo.txt

Plus in my original post I meant to say 20-30 SECONDS execution time and as you can imagine the user base is not pleased with that since the query is executed synchronously. Additionally, changing the query itself is not an option due to the constraints of changing C++ application that executes this query thus indexing is my only option. PLEASE HELP
    Thanks
  4. sqljunkie New Member

First add/rearrange your indexes to get rid of the Clustered Index Scan!