SQL Server Performance

How Much Is Too Much?

Discussion in 'EditorsBlog' started by shanetasker, Aug 14, 2008.

1. shanetasker New Member

I met someone this week who regularly works in excess of 65 hours a week and has been working as many as 90 hours of late. The organisation that this person works for recently lost several staff and all the work has landed in this person's lap. Although they are recruiting to fill the vacant positions, I am sure that the number of hours this person works will not reduce in the short term. As it will take several months before the new recruits are up to speed with the projects that this person is juggling at the moment.
    This does raise the question of what responsibility a workplace has for an employee's well being. I am no legal expert but I am sure that if an employee has a car crash while travelling home from work after a long day in the office that the workplace would be liable, as the workplace has failed to ensure a duty of care towards the employee. I know from experience that working long hours is not a healthy practice but sometimes there is no choice as the work just needs to be done. However, the flip side is that employers need to ensure that they do not have expectations that cannot be met. Do you feel that your employer sets unfair expectations and deadlines that force you to work more than 40 hours a week?
    - Peter Ward
  2. BrentO New Member