SQL Server Performance

How to find duplicate data in the payroll database

Discussion in 'SQL Server 2008 Questions [Archive Only - Closed]' started by arsanksa, Apr 21, 2010.

1. arsanksa New Member

Please help me to create a query to check no duplicate data created for any employee(s) in the same month in Payroll Database with following fields
    Select Emp_No, Emp_Name, Month, year, Salary from HR_Tsalary where Year='2010' and month ='3'
  2. satya Moderator

Is this a classroom based question?
  3. arsanksa New Member

Recently our database is transferred to SQL server and I am a beginner with Sql server, I use following query in Access working well but in Sql result is zero
    SELECT Emp_No, Emp_Name, Salary
    FROM HR_Tsalary
    WHERE month ='3' and year ='10' and (((Emp_No) In (SELECT [Emp_No] FROM [HR_Tsalary] As Tmp GROUP BY [Emp_No] HAVING Count(*)>1 )))
  4. FrankKalis Moderator

[quote user="arsanksa"]Recently our database is transferred to SQL server and I am a beginner with Sql server, I use following query in Access working well but in Sql result is zero
    SELECT Emp_No, Emp_Name, Salary
    FROM HR_Tsalary
    WHERE month ='3' and year ='10' and (((Emp_No) In (SELECT [Emp_No] FROM [HR_Tsalary] As Tmp GROUP BY [Emp_No] HAVING Count(*)>1 )))
    [/quote]
    If you just want to check for duplicates why not use something like:
    SELECT
    Emp_No, COUNT(*)
    FROM
    HR_Tsalary
    WHERE
    [year] = '10' AND
    [month] = '3'
    GROUP BY
    Emp_No
    HAVING
    COUNT(*) > 1;
  5. satya Moderator

Good to know the requirement from your explanatin, hope you got required from Frank's reply.
  6. Adriaan New Member

Note that the Access query you posted does not find duplicates for Emp+Year+Month for a given month+year.
    It actually returns all rows from HR_Tsalary for month='3' and year ='10', for all employees who have more than one row in HR_Tsalary (regardless of month and year).
  7. arsanksa New Member