SQL Server Performance

.ldf file growing but not .mdf

Discussion in 'SQL Server 2005 General DBA Questions' started by aarvind1, Jan 5, 2010.

1. aarvind1 New Member

I have an issue that I have not seen before. I am a beginner with SQL server so I have tried what I know but no success. I have SQL 2005 SP3 (9.00.4035.00) on one of the SQL DB servers. There are two databases on this server. I have noticed that for last 2 weeks or so the .ldf file grows but the .mdf file will only get modified once if that. I have had to backup the DB and then truncate the log file as it starts throwing tran log full errors. I ran consistency checks on the DB (DBCC checkdb(test)) and no errors found. I tried to change the recovery model from "Full" to "Simple" and back to "Full". This has not helped. Has anyone see this before. I would appreciate any assistance with this.
  2. satya.sqldba New Member

First question, do you have auto growth enabled on the transaction log file? Go to properties of the database and check the tab 'files' and then 'autogrowth'. If there is no auto growth enabled on the log file, your log file will grow to the initial size it was set and will throw tran log full error messages. Enable the auto growth to fix this error message.
    If you have that enabled and still get this messages, it means that your log file is growing so huge that it is occupying the whole disk on the server and throws the error messages because there is no more space on the disk for the file to grow. In this case you need to check the transaction batches that are coming into your database and tune them (split them into batches and not a single huge transaction) so that they don't occupy the whole space in transaction log and prevent it from reusing the space.
    I am guessing your problem may turn out to be the first possibility that I mentioned above.
    Good luck!
  3. aarvind1 New Member