SQL Server Performance

Long Running Cursor

Discussion in 'SQL Server 2005 T-SQL Performance Tuning' started by sijeffs, Feb 18, 2009.

1. sijeffs New Member

Hi Everyone,
    I'm new to SQL so apologies if my question is simple but I'm struggling with how best to complete the task I have.
    I have a record set for customer policies with a start and end date (they may last several years), I want to create a table with the policykey and a start and end date for each year between the start and end date of the policy.
    I have used the below code to create the table but it runs for over 2 hours. For info there are approx 360,000 records in the initial select so over a million should be generated in the final table.
    DECLARE @Date datetime
    DECLARE @ENDDATE datetime
    DECLARE @POLICYKEY varchar(50)

DECLARE c1 CURSOR READ_ONLY
    FOR
    SELECT table1.policy_key,table1.POL_START_DATE ,table1.dateadd(yy,1,POL_END_DATE)
    FROM table1 INNER JOIN table2.FACT_POLICY_SUMMARY
    ON table1.POLICY_KEY = table2.POLICY_KEY
    OPEN c1
    FETCH NEXT FROM c1
    INTO @POLICYKEY, @DATE, @ENDDATE
    WHILE @@FETCH_STATUS = 0
    BEGIN
    exec SP_POLICY_YEARS @POLICYKEY, @DATE, @ENDDATE
    -- PRINT @POLICYKEY + CAST(@ENDDATE AS VARCHAR(50))-- + @DATE
    FETCH NEXT FROM c1
    INTO @POLICYKEY,@DATE,@ENDDATE
    END
    CLOSE c1
    DEALLOCATE c1
    The SP just inserts the record into the new table.
    Any help is greatly appreciated.
    Kind Regards.
    Simon
  2. Madhivanan Moderator

Post the code used in the procedure
  3. sijeffs New Member

SP details below
    insert into POLICY_YEARS VALUES(@POLICYKEY,
    DATEADD(day, DATEDIFF(day, '20000101', @DATE), '20000101'),
    DATEADD(day, DATEDIFF(day, '20000101', DATEADD(DAY,-1,(dateadd(year,1,@Date)))), '20000101'))
    WHILE (@Date < @ENDDATE)
    BEGIN
    BEGIN
    SET @Date = dateadd(year,1,@Date)
    END
    IF(@Date > @ENDDATE)
    BREAK
    ELSE
    insert into POLICY_YEARS VALUES(@POLICYKEY,