SQL Server Performance

manipulate one input table and populate data into multiple tables

Discussion in 'SQL Server 2008 Integration Services' started by WingSzeto, Mar 17, 2009.

1. WingSzeto Member

Both of my source data and destination data are a SQL table. I want to retrieve 15 out of 50 columns in this source table and manipulate two of 15 columns(i.e. calcluation and string concatenation) to create two calculated colomns. Then I would write 12 columns of data into one table and 5 others into another table.
    I read about the For-each loop and the ADO Enumerator and thinking that I should do the data manipulation in there but I got stuck in the for-each loop as of what task I should use.
    I am a beginner in SSIS and like to get some pointers about how to do this. If there is a link on someone who has done this already, please post it.
    Any help on this is very much appreicated.
    wingman
  2. patel_mayur New Member

I am assuming that you want to insert all the records from source table to destination tables. There is no need to use For Each Loop.
    Create one data flow task and under dataflow task
    1. Create "OLE DB Source" whereas you will specify your source table / query.
    2. Put "Derived Column" for transformation and populate two new columns using available columns from your source.
    3. Use "Multi Cast" to create couple of copies of your datasource with two newly added columns.
    4. Use two different "OLE DB Destination" for copying the required columns from multi casted recordsets.
  3. WingSzeto Member

Thank for the pointers. It helps. I do have some follow-up questions.
    1. can you explain in what situation I should use For-each loop? .