SQL Server Performance

Monitoring DB activities

Discussion in 'SQL Server 2008 General DBA Questions' started by glnp, Feb 19, 2011.

1. glnp New Member

Hi ,
    Here is my requirement
    I am a DBA maintaing 150+ sql servers.Now i need to know whenever any user creates database or drops database on SQL servers.Can any one provide solution for this which process is suitable like
    1.Creating trigger and this trigger will produce alerts whenever DB creation/Deetion happens on an instance.
    If so i need to have the customized trigger like
    • DB creaed/Dropped
    • User name
    • Instance Name; Can some one help me in writing this trigger.
    2.Any SQL server 2008 audits can be used to track this process.Then here we should go for Server level audit rather than DB level audit.But this SQL server audits wil affect the performance while tracking events and Disk Space while storing the SQL server events in log files.
    If so then how to create this audit please guide me.
    Please correct me if a wrong.Thank you very much in advance.......
  2. mguissine New Member

[quote user="glnp"]
    Hi ,
    Here is my requirement
    I am a DBA maintaing 150+ sql servers.Now i need to know whenever any user creates database or drops database on SQL servers.Can any one provide solution for this which process is suitable like
    1.Creating trigger and this trigger will produce alerts whenever DB creation/Deetion happens on an instance.
    If so i need to have the customized trigger like
    • DB creaed/Dropped
    • User name
    • Instance Name; Can some one help me in writing this trigger.
    2.Any SQL server 2008 audits can be used to track this process.Then here we should go for Server level audit rather than DB level audit.But this SQL server audits wil affect the performance while tracking events and Disk Space while storing the SQL server events in log files.
    If so then how to create this audit please guide me.