SQL Server Performance

MS SQLSERVER Service Stops Automaticaly. Why?

Discussion in 'General DBA Questions' started by johnson_ef, Sep 5, 2005.

  1. johnson_ef Member

    HI All,<br /><br />SQL Server Service stops automaticaly without any specific frequency. This is happening since last 2 weeks. There is not any specific frequency for this behaviour.<br /><br />There are no any messages in Sql Server logs before this error. <br />Please help me to resolve this issue. <br /><br />Below pasted are the logs which I could retrive from SQL and System logs<br /><br /><br />Microsoft SQL Server 2000 - 8.00.760 (Intel X86) Dec 17 2002 14:22:05 Copyright (c) 1988-2003 Microsoft Corporation Enterprise Edition on Windows NT 5.0 (Build 2195: Service Pack 4) <br />==============================<br />Application Log:<br />-----------------<br />Date: 06.09.2005 <br />Time: 09:49:19 <br />Type: Error<br />User: N/A<br />Computer: SQL<br />Source: MSSQLServer<br />Category<img src='/community/emoticons/emotion-6.gif' alt=':(' /><img src='/community/emoticons/emotion-11.gif' alt='8)' /><br />Event ID: 19011<br />Description : SuperSocket info: ConnectionListen(Shared-Memory (LPC)) : Error 5. <br />==============================<br /><br />System Log:<br />Event Type: Error <br />Event Source: Service Control Manager <br />Event Category: None <br />Event ID: 7031 <br />Date: 06.09.2005 <br />Time: 09:49:19 <br />User: N/A <br />Computer: SQL <br /><br />Description: The MSSQLSERVER service terminated unexpectedly. It has done this 3 time(s). The following corrective action will be taken in 0 milliseconds: No action. <br /><br /><br />==============================<br /><br />
  2. dineshasanka Moderator

  3. johnson_ef Member

    Dear Chech These,

    Currently, we are using SP3a.

    we are facing one issue in the SP4, our front-end is J.D.Edwards, which doesn't support SP4.
    Otherwise, we would have been tried that too.

    Anyone can help me in this issue??

    Thanks and regards
    -Johnson
  4. dineshasanka Moderator

    There is a hotfix for the SP3, but you need to contact Microsoft Product Support Services to obtain the hotfix
  5. ghemant Moderator

    Have you implement forced Encryption in connection !? and enable shared memory protocol !?


    Regards

    Hemantgiri S. Goswami
    ghemant@gmail.com
    "Humans don't have Caliber to PASS TIME , Time it self Pass or Fail Humans" - by Hemant Goswami
  6. johnson_ef Member

    forced Encryption in connection : Unchecked
    enable shared memory protocol : Checked
  7. satya Moderator

    I believe you may need to look at JDEdwards website too for any support and compatibility with SQL SP4 and also as suggested with MS PSS.

    Satya SKJ
    Moderator
    http://www.SQL-Server-Performance.Com/forum
    This posting is provided “AS IS” with no rights for the sake of knowledge sharing.
  8. johnson_ef Member

    Actually, we tried to install SP4, but then JDEdwards stopped functioning, then we immediatly revert back to SP3a, and we have checked with JDEdwards team, and they also not suggested SP4.

    But, it was working with SP3a till Aug 16.
    Is there any thing related to the

    "A stack overflow exception may occur, and SQL Server 2000 may unexpectedly close when you submit a query that uses the UNION ALL operator more than 255 times
    "

    -Johnson
  9. satya Moderator

  10. ghemant Moderator

    Hi , <br />As i ask you about "Enable Shared Memory" and "Forced Encryption in Connection"<br />i found KB <a href='http://support.microsoft.com/kb/815249' target='_blank' title='http://support.microsoft.com/kb/815249'<a target="_blank" href=http://support.microsoft.com/kb/815249>http://support.microsoft.com/kb/815249</a></a><br /><br /><blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by ghemant</i><br /><br />Have you implement forced Encryption in connection !? and enable shared memory protocol !? <br /><br /><br />Regards<br /><br />Hemantgiri S. Goswami<br />ghemant@gmail.com<br />"Humans don't have Caliber to PASS TIME , Time it self Pass or Fail Humans" - by Hemant Goswami<br /><br /><hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></font id="quote"></blockquote id="quote"><br />to support my statement ,please look at <b>WORKAROUND</b> what it says is <b><i>To work around this problem, turn off the shared memory protocol on the computer that is running SQL Server Service Pack 3 (SP3)</i></b> This problem is corrected in SP4 but as it is not supported by JD Edwards,in <b><i>my opinion</i></b> you can go ahead with this option.<br /><br /><br />[<img src='/community/emoticons/emotion-1.gif' alt=':)' />]<br />Regards<br /><br /><br />Hemantgiri S. Goswami<br />ghemant@gmail.com<br />"Humans don't have Caliber to PASS TIME , Time it self Pass or Fail Humans" - by Hemant Goswami<br />
  11. satya Moderator

    Another workaround is to apply SP3a again and do what it was suggested by contacting JDEdwards too.

    Satya SKJ
    Moderator
    http://www.SQL-Server-Performance.Com/forum
    This posting is provided “AS IS” with no rights for the sake of knowledge sharing.
  12. ghemant Moderator

    HI Johnson,<br /><br />have you look over the issue , please let us know if it is solved ! <br /><br /><br />[<img src='/community/emoticons/emotion-1.gif' alt=':)' />]<br />Regards<br /><br />Hemantgiri S. Goswami<br />ghemant@gmail.com<br />"Humans don't have Caliber to PASS TIME , Time it self Pass or Fail Humans" - by Hemant Goswami<br />
  13. johnson_ef Member

    Thanks to Hemantgiri and Satya,

    We are trying various option and possiblities.

    We doubt any probs with Windows 2000 SP4, so we applied it yesterday.. and so far, there is no stopage till now after that.. we don't know that , is this a solution.

    Now we have put the trace On.. we want to identify the problem clearly...

    I will update you the details..

    -Johnson
  14. satya Moderator

    As there are third party tools involved, you must monitor the events closely in order to get granular results, let use know the outcome.

    Satya SKJ
    Moderator
    http://www.SQL-Server-Performance.Com/forum
    This posting is provided “AS IS” with no rights for the sake of knowledge sharing.
  15. johnson_ef Member

    This is to update you all about the progress in my production server.

    even after Win2k SP4, it was the same situation.

    There was one significant has been done after that. It was, Re-installed firmware for RAID Controller. Coz, one of our RAID controller had been replaced. We appllied new firmware which is downloaded from net.

    Now its more than 24 hours after that. SQL Server is running with out any termination.

    -Johnson
  16. satya Moderator

    I don;t think there is any relation between RAID controller and SQL service pack to address the issue, anywya glad to see there is no issue.

    Satya SKJ
    Moderator
    http://www.SQL-Server-Performance.Com/forum
    This posting is provided “AS IS” with no rights for the sake of knowledge sharing.
  17. johnson_ef Member

    Yes Satya,
    We were trying our level best to resolve this issue..

    We didn't conclude this issue here.. let us observe this for 2 more days..

    Till now we did these steps:

    1-Re-installed SQL Server and Attached user databases and recreate logins and msdb jobs
    2-Re-installed SP3(SQL)
    3-Re-installed SP4(Win2k)

    the last step is Re-installation of RAID controller..

    Let us see.. what will happen..

  18. satya Moderator

    Oh that seems a block to do, I guess if the problem crops up within next week or so then you may need to check from third party vendor as we have seen from SQL side from logs and monitoring tools. As a best bet running PROFILER and PERFMON periodically may give some insight too.

    Satya SKJ
    Moderator
    http://www.SQL-Server-Performance.Com/forum
    This posting is provided “AS IS” with no rights for the sake of knowledge sharing.
  19. johnson_ef Member

    yes Satya, We do run the trace... occassionaly.. but trace itself gives performance issue a lot.

    its not possible to put server-side trace, I do it client side with "Roll-over". still it consumes my local harddisk...

    We are on regular watch of the profiler.. lets see where it goes.

    -Johnson
  20. satya Moderator

  21. johnson_ef Member

    I think we could conclude this topic till we get any other solution or such incidents,
    coz, my Server running since the RAID Controllor driver is re-installed.. Its very strage that this issue is resolved like this. Its almost 4 Days with out any stoppage.

    thanks guys.. anyway, coz of this, I learned the possibilities of such issues.. great learning from you all.. thanks once more.

    -Johnson

Share This Page