SQL Server Performance

Need a script to find hard coded IP Address in Store procedures

Discussion in 'SQL Server 2008 General Developer Questions' started by aja4u, Dec 13, 2009.

1. aja4u New Member

Hi all,I am a novice to sql server. I need a script which can loop through all store procedures in a database and return me the store procedure name which contain hard coded ip address in its text.
  2. Madhivanan Moderator

select routine_name from information_schema.routines
    where object_definition(object_id(routine_name)) like '%your ip address%'
  3. aja4u New Member

Hi Madhivan,Thanks for the response.But my problem is i dont have the IP Address which i am searching for.I need to send a generic IP Address pattern to the above query which would return me the results.I am not able to find IP Address pattern to send to the above query.Thanks,aja4u
  4. Madhivanan Moderator

select
    routine_name from information_schema.routines
    where object_definition(object_id(routine_name)) like '%[0-9][0-9][0-9].[0-9][0-9][0-9].[0-9].[0-9][0-9][0-9]%'
  5. Adriaan New Member

Problem is that the four parts of the IP address can each be shorter than 3 characters, and madhi's solution will only find addresses with all parts having 3 characters.
    There are 81 possible combinations of 1, 2 and 3 character strings in four positions - hopefully this can be of help:select
    x.definition
    from sys.all_sql_modules x,
    (select 1 as ct union all select 2 union all select 3) y1,
    (select 1 as ct union all select 2 union all select 3) y2,
    (select 1 as ct union all select 2 union all select 3) y3,
    (select 1 as ct union all select 2 union all select 3) y4
    where x.definition like
    '%' + REPLICATE('[0-9]', y1.ct) + '.' + REPLICATE('[0-9]', y2.ct) + '.' + REPLICATE('[0-9]', y3.ct) + '.' + REPLICATE('[0-9]', y4.ct) + '%'
    It may take some time to finish!
  6. FrankKalis Moderator