SQL Server Performance

paging and multithreading for faster search

Discussion in 'ALL SQL SERVER QUESTIONS' started by aiza, Oct 25, 2013.

1. aiza New Member

hi,i am new to database..i am using sql server 2008 R2 for my project that will have 1 terabyte data..now i am trying to search some records from this huge data. As i want to extract data from a large table in small time,i have learnt that I would first have to look at paging as i would have to split work among threads or runnable interfaces. So Thread 1 handles pages 0 to 10, Thread 2 handles pages 11 to 20, etc..I want to know exactly how i can i use this approach for my search query..how to page database and how to make threads to do searching in different page ranges?Small example would be appreciated..Thanks in advance
  2. davidfarr Member

Your requirement of "extract data from a large table in small time" is not uncommon, most database users and admins require this every day.
    For this reason; multithreading and paging is already integrated into the SQL Server Query engine.

As a database admin, you have the option to set the degree of multithreading in all query executions;
    exec sp_configure 'max degree of parallelism'
    As a user; you have the option of adding a query hint to each specific query such as;
    OPTION (MAXDOP 2) ...to specify 2 threads when executing the query, up to a maximum of 1024 threads. The query engine will never use more threads than it needs. Even if you specify 1024 threads in a query execution, the engine may determine that only 8 are necessary.

However, users and developers typically should not concern themselves with this feature because the SQL Server query engine by default will use as many threads as it needs to optimize the execution performance of each query.
    SQL Server does not make provision for manually specifying which thread should execute which data page. Such things are inherently handled by the query engine.