SQL Server Performance

Performance is too slow...

Discussion in 'SQL Server 2008 Performance Tuning for DBAs' started by kirankadali, Jun 19, 2009.

1. kirankadali New Member

Hi,
    I am not a DBA. I am just a Developer. We are using Sql server 2005 in the server. But at my desk, SQL Server 2008 client is installed to work with the data that is in the server. SQL server 2008 is too slow while executing the queries or while generating the Scripts for the stored procedures or the tables.
    But at my colleagues desk, its working fine. I am unable to find out the difference. Please help me to get out of this.
    Thanx in Advance.
    Kiran Kadali
  2. Luis Martin Moderator

Welcome to the forum!.
    Try to full update statistics and test again.
  3. kirankadali New Member

Thanks for the quick reply.
    I am not good at SQL. Update statistics is for what? Is it for the tables and stored procedures. If so, I think its not the probelm with tables. As I mentioned, At my colleagues desk, the same data base is working fine. when I right click on the tables, Its taking 3 to 5 seconds to show the context menu.
    I think its not the kind of performance tuning or Optimization.
    Let me know what the options I need to select while installing the SQL Server Client tools on my system.
  4. satya Moderator

Welcome to the forums.
    As referred by Luis the statistics are the important information about the rows for each table that are stored as system.catalog to help the query optimization,
    In this case I would like to say that your initial question is an open, which means not much information about where exactly the performance is sufferred. Is it during a query execution or in general such as whenever a database properties are viewed.
  5. kirankadali New Member

Thank U satya, for the information.