SQL Server Performance

Permissions for the proxy account

Discussion in 'SQL Server 2008 General DBA Questions' started by dinkar82, Dec 16, 2010.

1. dinkar82 New Member

Hi everyone,
    I am new in SQL Server so please bear with me.
    A question regarding proxy a/c permissions in a SQL Server Agent job:
    I am logged in as user1 with sysadmin privillages, created a job with owner user2 who only have public permissions. Used same a/c to create proxy a/c which i used in user2's agent job.
    Agent job is just fetching new rows from one server and transferring them into another.
    I was thinking that it wont be sucessful because user2 didnt have any sysadmin or agentjob roles(just had public privilage). But job got executed sucessfully and it did transfer rows to other server as well.
    My query is that why it happened, how come without the permissions?
    And could you please tell me what minimum permissions i need to give to login to run a multiserver job because i want to use this login just to run in-future agent jobs as well. no extra permissions i want to give to this login.
    Any help will be highly appretiated.
    Thanks in advance.
  2. satya Moderator

WElcome to the forums.
    Follow these guidelines to improve the security of your SQL Server Agent implementation:
    • Create dedicated user accounts specifically for proxies, and only use these proxy user accounts for running job steps.

• Only grant the necessary permissions to proxy user accounts. Grant only those permissions actually required to run the job steps that are assigned to a given proxy account.

• Do not run the SQL Server Agent service under a Microsoft Windows account that is a member of the Windows Administrators group.