SQL Server Performance

Practical Reasons for upgrading from SQL Server 2005 to 2008?

Discussion in 'SQL Server 2008 General DBA Questions' started by kopajb@gmail.com, Jul 12, 2009.

1. kopajb@gmail.com New Member

I'm an intermediate Production DBA and busy writing a business case to upgrade from SQL Server 2005 to 2008, but struggle to find any 2008 features that makes upgrading to SQL Server 2008 a MUST. Yes, there are many "nice to have" features but none of them are MUSTS with the exception of (1)Maintaining Mainstream Support. I want to know about features that can justify the business costs and effort(time) for upgrading to 2008.

I'm more interested in PRACTICAL features that can improve (1)DBA productivity and efficiency (manageability), (2) environment security, (3) increased performance , (4)increased availability, (5)standardization and (6)documentation. Can you help to list some of the features which you think are MUSTS for now. The details about how each feature works and how to practically implement it will follow at a later stage. Your assistance will be highly appreciated.
  2. moh_hassan20 New Member

Welcome to the forum
    sql 2008 are rich with many new 50+ features which satisfy dba, developer , security and business users. I list the top cool features (from my point of view[;)]):
    • Change Data Capture (CDC): makes database auditing easier and off-line connections for smart clients applications.
    • FILESTREAM Data: Allow large binary data to be stored directly in an NTFS file system and preserving an integral part of the database and maintaining transactional consistency. Enable the scale-out of large binary data traditionally managed by the database to be stored outside the database on more cost-effective storage.
    • Backup Compression: Less storage is required to keep backups online, and backups run significantly faster since less disk I/O is required.
    • Spatial Data Types: Implement GIS data type.