SQL Server Performance

Scheduling DTS to move data

Discussion in 'SQL Server DTS-Related Questions' started by simflex, Sep 23, 2003.

1. simflex New Member

Hello experts,
    this is my first time posting to this forum.
    I have 5 access databases that reside on a user's pc.
    These 5 databases need to be migrated to sql server database.
    The approach I was asked to follow was to first of all copy all data from these access databases into sql server databases and then schedule dts to append any new or modified data from these access databases into sql server database.
    Does anyone know of a script that can help me do this?
    Thanks in advance
  2. gaurav_bindlish New Member

3. satya Moderator

First off refer to this DBjournalhttp://www.databasejournal.com/features/mssql/article.php/1490561 article which helps to understand differences between the two.

If this is one-of requirement simply you can use DTS to import the data from MS Access and I think using upsizing wizard in latest Access version is easier. Download appropriate driver fromhttp://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp?url=/nhp/Default.asp?contentid=28001860 link to deal with import/export.

_________
    Satya SKJ
    SQL-Server-Performance.Com
  4. satya Moderator

5. gaurav_bindlish New Member

I edited the same and now it is working.

Gaurav
    Man thrives, oddly enough, only in the presence of a challenging environment- L. Ron Hubbard
  6. simflex New Member

thanks gurus.
    I will be perusing the wealth information you provided.
  7. simflex New Member

I have had time to dissect all the links you graciously provided to me.
    Though they provided information that was slightly different from what I was looking to accomplish, they were nonetheless very useful.
    What I was looking to accomplish was two-fold.
    One, find a way to export data from an access database that is currently sitting on the user's desktop.