SQL Server Performance

SP running slowly

Discussion in 'Performance Tuning for DBAs' started by jsv, Dec 26, 2007.

1. jsv New Member

Hi i am shashi. I am new to the DBA work. I am working for tuning of an SP. Till yesterday the SP ran for 2 hrs , but today it
    is taking 9hrs to run . Can anyone suggest how to start the tuning . Their are many DML statements written in SP. What the
    basic things should i look at . Their are around 8 to 10 tables inside the SP. Should i look at the statistics and Logical scan
    fragmentation. pls help me, Thanks in advance.
  2. Luis Martin Moderator

Welcome to the forum.
    About problem:
    1) Check execution plan to find out if any index is necessary.
    2) Frequently run reindex and update statistics.
    3) using Query Analyzer run:
    set statistics io on
    your sp
    set statistics io off
    check if you have a lot of read ahead. I so, then you need some index.
    Just to start....
  3. ranjitjain New Member

Hi,
    I think if data in those tables have been modified hugely, i.e. lots of bulk inserts/delete has taken place then db might be having outdated statistics. Run update statistics on the whole db and check all of statistics updated.
  4. satya Moderator

I guess you need better understanding on the exeuction plans & indexing too, in this case take your time to review the articles section on this website that will get you more information on how best you can configure/fine tune your code for a performance gain.
    BTW< how often the reindexing and update statistics job runs on these tables?
  5. jsv New Member

HI,
    Thanks for all yur replies . Actually the SP has to run only once per day , but some user was running sp already . For that reason it tuk
    a long time to execute . Anways i rebuild the indexes and updated the statistics. SP is running fine now.
    Thanks,
    Shashi.
  6. ndinakar Member