SQL Server Performance

sp_executesql permission issue

Discussion in 'SQL Server 2005 General DBA Questions' started by LaFilipina, Aug 8, 2008.

1. LaFilipina New Member

Hi All,I am very new to SQL 2005 and we have just recently upgraded on of our servers from 2000 to 2005. As we are doing application testing, we are getting this error:
    {"The EXECUTE permission was denied on the object 'sp_executesql', database 'mssqlsystemresource', schema 'sys'." }
    Here's the background of the problem:

1. User executing the statement is USER1
    2. Database is MYDB
    3. Problem statement:
    Declare @cmd nvarchar(500)
    Set @cmd = 'SELECT * FROM mytable WHERE id ='+char(39)+'22010-123456'+char(39)+';'
    print @cmd
    exec sp_executesql @cmd
    4. USER1 has db_datareader, db_datawriter and execute_role on database MYDB
    5. I tried explictly granting execute permission to USER1 on sp_executesql located on master.. .but still getting the same error above. I also tried to explicitly grant select permission on mytalbe to USER1 but no avail.
    What am I missing? Looking forward to hearing from you guys!
    Thanks,
    LaFlipina
  2. amitadmin New Member

Hi Paul,
    Please try the folowing steps:
    1. Create Role ProcExec
    2. Grant Execute to ProcExec
    3. Add User1 in ProcExce Role as a member
    I believe the above steps will resolve this issue or Give to user as a db_owner permission.
    Please reply if you found any solution.
  3. LaFilipina New Member

Hi Amit,
    Thanks, for the reply. We have other SQL2k5 servers, so I tried to replicate the scenario in there and surprisingly, I didn't get the same error. I tried to compare settings and permissions between the two SQL Servers and I found one difference. In master database, the public role has a denied permission on sp_executesql on the server where I am encountering the problem.