SQL Server Performance

SSIS on 2 nodes cluster

Discussion in 'SQL Server 2005 General DBA Questions' started by shabnyc, Jun 23, 2010.

1. shabnyc Member

Hi All, I am new to cluster environment.
    we have 2 nodes cluster active/passive, we have an SSIS package in the virtual node. the package should run and copy data from another server into databases in the cluster. the package always fails. my question is where should we execute the ssis from? Is it from virtual machine or from the active node. when I want to add objects to the database in the cluster, should I add it in the virtual machine or add to the active node.
    your help is appreciated
  2. melvinlusk Member

What do you mean by "virtual machine"? Are you running two cluster nodes that are virtual machines?
    If your cluster is truly active/passive, it probably only has a single instance of SQL Server. If it's the default instance, integration services probably has the same name as the active node.
  3. shabnyc Member

virtual machine that we monitor the cluster from. some admins say what ever I wanna do on the cluster, we should do it thru this virtual machine and not touch the active/passive nodes.
  4. shab_nyc New Member

some how VIA (from configuration manager) was enabled. I disabled it, started the SQL services from command prompt, now it works OK.
  5. satya Moderator

Are you using any specific hardware?
    Because Virtual Interface Adapter (VIA) protocol works with VIA hardware that is used for System Area Networks, which are high-speed networks connecting servers or clusters of servers.
  6. shabnyc Member

I will get the error message and post here, this messge and a suggestion from a member of server team pushed me to disable VIA.
  7. satya Moderator