SQL Server Performance

SSIS slow on Intel Core2Duo Processor

Discussion in 'SQL Server 2005 General Developer Questions' started by Exall, May 11, 2007.

  1. Exall New Member

    I have upgraded to a intel Core2duo cpu with 1 gig RAM for development. The actual time is faster than my old pc Intel P4 3,2 with 1 gig Ram, however the time before the execution starts is very long +/- minutes. I have installed SP1 for VS2005

    Thanks
  2. satya Moderator

    Do you get any error or warning after this SSIS package execution?

    Satya SKJ
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    Writer, Contributing Editor & Moderator
    http://www.SQL-Server-Performance.Com
    This posting is provided AS IS with no rights for the sake of knowledge sharing. Knowledge is of two kinds. We know a subject ourselves or we know where we can find information on it.
  3. Exall New Member

    No errors or messages and the package completes successfully
  4. satya Moderator

    Then what is the problem if you see the slow performance then check what kind of query is running by referring to execution plan.

    Satya SKJ
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    Writer, Contributing Editor & Moderator
    http://www.SQL-Server-Performance.Com
    This posting is provided AS IS with no rights for the sake of knowledge sharing. Knowledge is of two kinds. We know a subject ourselves or we know where we can find information on it.
  5. Exall New Member

    The problem is the time taken before the package starts to execute. Once the package has started is fast.
  6. satya Moderator

    What is the service pack level on SQL & Windows?
    Do you see high CPU or memory usage before starting this package?

    Satya SKJ
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    Writer, Contributing Editor & Moderator
    http://www.SQL-Server-Performance.Com
    This posting is provided AS IS with no rights for the sake of knowledge sharing. Knowledge is of two kinds. We know a subject ourselves or we know where we can find information on it.
  7. Exall New Member

    Win XP SP2
    SQL 2005 SP2
    VS2005 SP1
    SQL 2000 SP2 if applicable
  8. satya Moderator

    What is the workout of this SSIS package?
    Are you able to reproduce the same on another machine?

    Satya SKJ
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    Writer, Contributing Editor & Moderator
    http://www.SQL-Server-Performance.Com
    This posting is provided AS IS with no rights for the sake of knowledge sharing. Knowledge is of two kinds. We know a subject ourselves or we know where we can find information on it.
  9. Exall New Member

    Workout is:
    1. Check if a table has data in it.
    2. Truncate a table.
    3. Transfer the data into the table which was truncated in step 2.

    Yes we can reproduce the same on another machine with the same configuration. With the same results
  10. Exall New Member

    Problem resolved
    1. Uninstall VS2005 and SQL2005
    2. Reinstall VS2005 and SQL2005 in this order.
  11. satya Moderator

    I haven't seen this issue at my end even though the orderof installation is different to what you have mentioned, anyway appreciate your feedback here.

    Satya SKJ
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    Writer, Contributing Editor & Moderator
    http://www.SQL-Server-Performance.Com
    This posting is provided AS IS with no rights for the sake of knowledge sharing. Knowledge is of two kinds. We know a subject ourselves or we know where we can find information on it.

Share This Page