SQL Server Performance

The maximum connection limit has been reached

Discussion in 'Performance Tuning for DBAs' started by arjanf, Nov 10, 2005.

1. arjanf New Member

Hello PPL,

I do have an SQL2000 Database server that is giving me on some occations the error:
    The maximum connection limit has been reached

I tried SP_WHO & SP_LOCK. But it seems not to be a locking problem. I'm very new to DATABASE administration so if you could point me in the right direction to look it would be preceated.

The thing is that SP_WHO shows by my knowledge extremly lot of sleeping process (In total a return of more then 26000 rows). Many are of the same defined user.

I know that the concurrent connections is set to default 32760 so getting pass this number gives me the error as displayed.

But how can I figure what or who is causing this problem. My thinking is that an application is causing the process going to sleep but never wakes them and just starts to use a new process instead of closing or reusing the old one.

So where should I look for?

Thanks in advanced,
    Arjan Fraaij
  2. mulhall New Member

Look in sysprocesses, you may find that connections aren't being closed properly.

Where is this error appearing? You can get similar errors due to NIC problems.
  3. arjanf New Member

quote:Originally posted by mulhall

Look in sysprocesses, you may find that connections aren't being closed properly.

Where is this error appearing? You can get similar errors due to NIC problems.

Like I said I'm very new. Wich colum in sysprocesses whould indicate that the connections aren't closed as they should be?
  4. satya Moderator

5. arjanf New Member

Thanks Satya,

The first KB article I did know already thats where I discoverd the maximum connection of 32670.

This usefull for increasing the number of possible connection but not really what I'm looking for.