SQL Server Performance

tranfer data from one table to another that are not joined

Discussion in 'SQL Server 2005 General Developer Questions' started by mikehaddad, Mar 5, 2010.

1. mikehaddad New Member

hi i'm new to sql server 2005 and to database in general i have 2 tables one is customers that has IP,Fname,Lname,Telephone,Email,Location,TypeofConnection,StartDate and the second table is stopped and has IP,Fname,Lname,Telephone,Email,Location,TypeofConnection,StartDate,StoppedDate.
    i want to copy data from customer table to stopped table where IP and stoppedDate are taken from textboxes. i worte this Insert into statement but i'm getting error this is the statement that i wrote:

"INSERT INTO stopped (IP, Fname, Lname, Telephone,Email, Location, TypeofConnection, StartDate, StoppedDate) SELECT IP, Fname, Lname, Telephone,Email, Location, TypeofConnection, StartDate from customers where IP = '" & TextBox1.Text & "' AND StoppedDate = '" & TextBox2.Text & "';"

how can i solve this problem.
  2. FrankKalis Moderator

Welcome to the forum!
    You're not supplying values for StoppedDate in your SELECT statement. Either remove StoppedDate for the list in your INSERT or add the StoppedDate to your SELECT list.
    Btw, you might want to validate the TextBox input first before you use it in your statement. Otherwise you're vulnerable to SQL injection.
  3. mikehaddad New Member

sorry but i need to add the StoppedDate at the same time and to the same row.is there any way to do that?
  4. Adriaan New Member

Yes. Like I said earlier, the error message is very clear - you're not supplying any value for the StoppedDate column in your query.
  5. mikehaddad New Member

yes i am supplying StoppedDate with value from textbox. and that is my problem.how to enter StoppedDate manually to each row i want to stop?
  6. Adriaan New Member

Your query has two parts, INSERT INTO (target) and SELECT (source).
    For each column on the target, your source must provide a value.