SQL Server Performance

Transaction Logs

Discussion in 'Performance Tuning for DBAs' started by jameshuff, Jan 24, 2003.

1. jameshuff New Member

I am fairly new to SQL Server 2K, and need a question answered.

We currently run SQL Server 2K with Full Transaction Logging, but we use a front end that mixes "DOS" and Windows utilities. (I know, it was like this when I started). Anyways, we use a full system backup nightly to backup our SQL Server to tape, as it is the only way to keep the DOS and SQL transactions in sync.

One of our developers states that we can not disable the Transaction logging, as it will mess up the files and groups that they have.

I am familiar with Oracle, and we changed the Rollback Segments on an 80,000 user - AIX database to enhance backups for restore capabilities, and never experienced problems.

Two questions:

Since we have a financial transaction tables I'll call 'Bill-tran' that we need to keep valid, is there a way to Export/Import the Bill-tran tables or have the Transaction Logs only process the commits to these tables/files?

Second question: Is there a better way (other than migrating all the DOS stuff to Windows, (We are working on that)) of doing the backups.

We currently have the databases split into 6 databases so we can backup the 'Bill-tran' seperately, but the administration is a nightmare. We are planning on merging all 6 databases into one, and I need a good backup plan for the 'Bill-tran' tables.

Do I need to have Full Logging if we have to use the tape restore due to the 'DOS' records. Or can I pull just the 'Bill-tran' tables out of the transaction logs.

Can someone tell me where I can find this anser?

Thank you.

James
  2. tkelley New Member