SQL Server Performance

use of temp tables

Discussion in 'SQL Server 2005 General Developer Questions' started by jazzy, Jan 30, 2010.

1. jazzy New Member

I am basically new to t-sql and have the following temp table questions:
    1. I am wondering what is a better idea to use temp tables or alot of left joins to solve complex query issues?
    If so, can you tell me what is better and why?
    2. If temp tables are a better solution, I know that temp tables take room from tempdb. If there some procedure I could follow to make certain that I restore the space to tempdb? Let me know if doing a table create and then an insert into table is better to use that a select field(s) into new table?
    3. If using more left joins is a better solution, can you tell me why?
    4. is using several left joins with one or two temp tables a good idea?
  2. preethi Member

Welcome to forums!
    [quote user="jazzy"]1. I am wondering what is a better idea to use temp tables or alot of left joins to solve complex query issues?
    If so, can you tell me what is better and why?[/quote]
    The answer is not that simple. (Or the simple answer is "it depends")
    It depends on many things including the query, your expectations, current issues with the environment and many others.
    1. What do you mean by "Complex queries"? Using many tables or complex calculations?
    2. How big the tables are ?
    3. How heavily used the tables are?
    4. When are you executing the query?
    5. Do you have all necessary indexes to cover the query?
    6. Where your user database and tempdb are placed? Do they share the same drives?
    7. What do you want to achieve? Reduce the total execution time, IO operations, locks on key resources, or complexity of the query?
    There are some advantages in using tempdb under certain situations