SQL Server Performance

What is the best way to copy only UPDATED data between two exact tables on two diff servers?

Discussion in 'SQL Server 2005 General DBA Questions' started by playafree, Nov 27, 2007.

1. playafree New Member

HI, i'm new to SQL so please bare with me. Here's the situation. I have two SQL db's on two different servers with the same tables. I have already setup a SSIS job to use the copy column to have the tables the same. My problem is that i don't know the most efficient way to create a SSIS job to only copy over UPDATED data that needs to run every 10mins. Can anyone help me out?
    Thanks,
  2. satya.sqldba New Member

If I were you, I would try setting up replication between the two databases across those instances.
    Satya
  3. Greg Larsen New Member

To use SSIS your table would need to have a column that contains the datetime when the data was updated, and you would select based on that datetime column
  4. playafree New Member

So if the source db is on SQL2000, i would create the publication there and have that publish to the SQL2005 instance? How well does this work?
  5. satya.sqldba New Member

I have setup replication across different versions of SQL Server in the past and didn't have any problems.
  6. FrankKalis Moderator

[quote user="playafree"]
    HI, i'm new to SQL so please bare with me. Here's the situation. I have two SQL db's on two different servers with the same tables. I have already setup a SSIS job to use the copy column to have the tables the same. My problem is that i don't know the most efficient way to create a SSIS job to only copy over UPDATED data that needs to run every 10mins. Can anyone help me out?
    [/quote]
    What I don't understand is, what happens with the data copied over?