SQL Server Performance

windows authentication SQL

Discussion in 'General DBA Questions' started by TRACEYSQL, May 23, 2006.

1. TRACEYSQL New Member

Im new to this company and now getting involved in the SQL Security.

A new person comes onboard and he the web person and wanted access to the database.

So i added security login domainjack and gave him permission for one databasea only.

So im on his machine and i bring up query analyzer ...i go to databaseb and could add and delete do what i wanted.

So i was like how come..

So i removed his login all together.

I go back to his machine bring up sql query analyzer and connect using sql query...with windows nt...............again i can delete add...in any database

How........is that remotely possible.

Thanks
  2. Mast_dba New Member

Is he memeber of any group exist on the database server ? check if he is memeber of Builtinadministrators group or any other group which have acess to database server

Thanks

MAST
    ITS IMPOSSIBLE TO DEFEAT A PERSON WHO NEVER GIVE UP.
  3. Luis Martin Moderator

Also check when you create the new account what group is default.

Luis Martin
    SQL-Server-Performance.com

Although nature commences with reason and ends in experience it is necessary for us to do the opposite, that is to commence with experience and from this to proceed to investigate the reason.
    Leonardo Da Vinci

Nunca esperes el reconocimiento de tus hijos, eso ocurrirá luego de tu muerte

All postings are provided “AS IS” with no warranties for accuracy.

4. TRACEYSQL New Member

On network active directory i can't see the Builtinadministrators group
  5. cmdr_skywalker New Member