Copy/Paste database to another server | SQL Server Performance Forums

SQL Server Performance Forum – Threads Archive

Copy/Paste database to another server

This probably is real basic stuff but I am new to this and am starting with some very basic questions. I have a database on SQL 2000. The xxx data.mdf is about 25 megs. The xxx log .ldf has grown to about 60 megs for some reason. I copy my database from this server to a warm backup server across a very, very slow network. I stop the production server and copy only my database and log files to the desktop…. winzip it….restart sql server, copy across the network to the other server…. unzip it… stop the other server and extract those 2 files to the appropriate data folder on the sql server. Even when zipped from 80 megs to about 10, it will take over an hour to come across. My questions:
Should I copy both files over or can I get away with just the mdf?
or should I be including more: master, msdb, temp?
I do this each morning as an offsite warm recovery plan as well as provide up to date info only (no data input) for users at site 2. Replication etc has failed because of network unreliability Thanks
Merv[?]
No, your need both files, mdf and log in order to use sp_dbattach to backup server. In log, there is transactions not actually in database (mdf).
One option may be use "checkpoint" to force transaction log write into database (mdf).
But, why no use logic backup to copy to backup server?.
Master, msdb and tempdb are not necesary to have a production database backup copy.
In case main server crash, well, if you need database on line as soon as posible, then master, msdb and tempdb are necesary.
Luis Martin …Thus mathematics may be defined as the subject in which we never know what we are talking about, nor whether what we are saying is true.
Bertrand Russell
You can take help of Log shipping in this case to keepup the warm standby server for transactions.