Help: Arrays in StorProc Parms? | SQL Server Performance Forums

SQL Server Performance Forum – Threads Archive

Help: Arrays in StorProc Parms?

Hello, I’m fairly new to SQL Server and could use some help. I have a stored procedure that selects values using an ‘IN’ condition in the Where clause. The entries in the IN condition can vary and are passed in on a parm to the stored procedure. What I have so far is something like this: alter procedure xxxxx
@grp1 int = null,
@grp2 int = null,
@grp3 int = null select <blah blah blah>
where group in (@grp1,@grp2,@grp3) This works OK. I can pass one, two or three parameters to this and by specifying the null defaults, I don’t have to pass more than I need. (I actually have more parameters, but I simplified this example.) The only problem with this is I don’t really know what the maximim number of values that might need to be passed is. I could take a guess that maybe 5 or 10 parameters is enough, but there’s no certainty. Is there some way I can pass a variable number of parms to this? An array of parms would be great. Or is there a way to simply define a literal with the values? I tried that and was unable to get the IN condition to work with it, but maybe there’s a way. It seems like passing an array should be doable and is probably the right approach, but I don’t know if it can be done or how to do it. Can anyone help me out? Thanks.

quote:Originally posted by TomKattt Hello, I’m fairly new to SQL Server and could use some help. I have a stored procedure that selects values using an ‘IN’ condition in the Where clause. The entries in the IN condition can vary and are passed in on a parm to the stored procedure. What I have so far is something like this: alter procedure xxxxx
@grp1 int = null,
@grp2 int = null,
@grp3 int = null select <blah blah blah>