How much to index? | SQL Server Performance Forums

SQL Server Performance Forum – Threads Archive

How much to index?

I am relatively new to tuning SQL Server databasesa and I am trying to get a handle on indeces. I have a basic select on a table: select col1, col2, col3 from tab1 where col3 > 100 I setup an index on col3 and saw no improvement (in the query analyzer execution plan). When I setup 2 more indeces on col1 and col2 I saw massive improvement. The execution plan looked like it was using each of the indeces to search the whole table and then merging the results with a "Hash match/Inner join". Why is it searching on col1 or col2? I would think it just needs to search on col3 and return the associated entries in that row. The query text (in the execution plan) reads something like: select [col1]=[col1], [col2]=[col2], [col3]=[col3] from tab1 where [col3]>@1

It is searching on col3, but when the other columns are indexed it gets the data from the index rather than from the table. Bambola.
Try creating a composite index on col1, col2 and col3 keeping col3 as first column. All the data will be found in one index only and so no other indexes will be required. This kind of index is called covering index. But note creation of this index dependsa lot on the queries executed against this table. Gaurav
quote:Originally posted by gaurav_bindlish Try creating a composite index on col1, col2 and col3 keeping col3 as first column. All the data will be found in one index only and so no other indexes will be required. This kind of index is called covering index. But note creation of this index dependsa lot on the queries executed against this table. Gaurav

What if I want a "select *"? Do I have to include every column in the index. This doesn’t make a lot of sense, I thought you only needed an index on items in the where or group clauses. -A Freeman