HP SAN and SQL Server | SQL Server Performance Forums

SQL Server Performance Forum – Threads Archive

HP SAN and SQL Server

Hello. My company is thinking of investing in a HP 1510i iSCSI SAN as part of a consolidation exercise. It will contain up to 56 x 300GB disks. I have no experience if SAN’s so I suppose what I’m after really is some guidance on what and how I should ask for from the SAN to ensure that the SQL Server databases perform adequately. I have around 30 SQLServer 2000 databases that will have to go on it. None of the databases are above 10Gb in size and are unlikely to grow beyond that size for some considerable time. 20 of the databases are OLTP, the other 10 are used for reporting purposes only. My initial thought is to put the data files on one controller and the log files on to another and configure them as RAID 1, as availability is the key. Would you agree that this is the best cousre of action or would there be any benefit from splitting the
tables and indexes onto separate controllers, and what about tempdb? I also have concerns that the disks in the SAN are too big and it would be better for me if it had lots of smaller disks instead of a few big ones. All thought would be much appreciated. Thanks.

i would be more concerned about sequential bandwidth for Direct Attach storage, i would like to get 50MB/sec per disk capped the number of PCI-x/e slots, for 56 disks, that would be 2.5GB/sec, even 1.3GB/sec would be acceptable is this for multiple servers? if not, why go with SAN?, with its seriouslt poor sequential performance.
depending on what each controller can do, i would have 4 controllers for the OLTP and 4 for the reporting DBs 112 146GB drives would provide more random IO
but the DB you are describing does not need this much capacity
is this SAN for other purposes? if so, do not let any tell it is ok to mix important db with other applications on one SAN, this is vendor BS to justify the fat margins they get on their SAN products.