Issues configuring new replacement server | SQL Server Performance Forums

SQL Server Performance Forum – Threads Archive

Issues configuring new replacement server

Hi, I am a vb/sql programmer but inherited SQL Admin responsibilities when our admin left the company about a year ago. So far I have managed to resolve any issues, but am now facing what I have been dreading – configuring a new server to replace our current production SQL server. I have installed SQL, set up databases, etc., and am now testing our apps against this new server and running into an issue with the cpu usage level. I am running apps against the new server at less than 1/4 of what would be normal usage on our current server, and it causes the cpu usage (in task manager) to consistently run at between 85-100%. The cpu usage levels on the current server run on average between 40-50%. I tested an app that I know hits the processor hard – against the current server with other normal production activity it only caused it to run at 55-60%, but running this app alone with no other activity against the new server caused the processor to run at about 95%. Server Info: Current Server
– 2 733 Processors
– 2GHz memory
– no RAID New Server
– 1 Xeon 2.6GHz processor (tried with hyperthreading on and off with same results)
– 1GHz memory (ordered another 1GHz today)
– RAID level 1 Both servers:
– Win2KPro, SP4
– SQL2K Standard, SP2
– Same SQL databases
Any suggestions about what to do would be greatly appreciated!! If you need more info on the servers, please let me know. Thanks,
Jennifer
I’d suggest using profiler on the new server to find any queries taking longer than 100ms to complete (RPC:Complete and Batch:Complete) This might give you some queries to compare…? also is the RAID1 hardware or software? are both servers using the same default colations Cheers
Twan
Follow thru articles about PERFMON, PROFILER on this website homepage for more information. _________
Satya SKJ
SQL-Server-Performance.Com