Large Writes to Centre of mdf File | SQL Server Performance Forums

SQL Server Performance Forum – Threads Archive

Large Writes to Centre of mdf File

Hi All I’m new to this (forum and SQL Server DBA) so please be gentle. I have a new OLTP system up and running which is no where near maximum capacity yet. The basic problem is at, what seem to be, random intervals SQL Server attempts to write large amounts of 1MB files to the centre of my single mdf file (according to perfmon). When this happens the entire system grinds to a halt with time out errors. The number of transactions per second is tiny, the disk queue is maxed out and the CPU usage is very low. The details of my configuration are not ideal (from reading various postings to this forum) so please don’t shout at me. I have 5 36GB disks in a RAID5 configuration, dual Xeon processors and 4GB of RAM running SQL Server 2000 Standard on Windows Server 2003 Standard. The "single large disk" has everything on it. The o/s, exe, mdf, ldf and backups. Yes I can hear you all shouting at me now. The mdf file is 6GB now and basically the system only has 3 users: 2 services that do more writing than reading and one user interface that does more reading than writing. Other than lookup tables and a few tables that hardly ever change, there are three main tables in the database. Two contain information about all the transactions that are happening and one (which contains a TEXT field) that contains the main transaction data. What I would like to know, is my hardware configuration significantly bad enough to be causing the problem I have? Or is there something else that I’ve missed? The database is set to grow automatically by 10%. If I manually run an optimization job (set up using the default settings in a new Maintenance Job) the writes to the mdf file stop and my system recovers. Iain
Welcome to the forum.
Do you have any other scheduled jobs when thsi large amounts of 1Mb files are written to the file.