MDX get all negative values | SQL Server Performance Forums

SQL Server Performance Forum – Threads Archive

MDX get all negative values

I need to query a cube with all negative values, unfortunately I’m new to MDX and find the syntax very alien compared to SQL. I want to get the sum of all negative values from the database. SQL would be: SELECT Desk,Rating_Group, SUM(Value)
FROM fact
WHERE SUM(Value)<0
GROUP BY Desk,Rating_Group I’ve tried various ways to get the data, but the aggregation does not appear to be correct. MDX:
WITH MEMBER [Measures].[Long] AS
IIF(
[Measures].[Risk Value]<0,
[Measures].[Risk Value],
NULL)
SELECT NON EMPTY { [Measures].[Long]} ON COLUMNS,
NON EMPTY { ([Vdim Curve Family].[Hierarchy].[SP Rating Group]*[Vdim Book].[Desk].[Desk].Members) }
ON ROWS
FROM [DM] What appears to be happenning is that the data is being pre-aggregated, so it returns the equivalent of the SQL SELECT Desk,Rating_Group, SUM(Value)
FROM fact
GROUP BY Desk,Rating
HAVING SUM(Value)<0 I’ve also tried filter, aggregate,sum and all appear to give me the same problem. Comments gratefully received, thanks if anyone can enlighten me. I’m considering going back to the view that builds my cube and changing it and adding a new measure, but it seems over the top for something which is so easy in SQL.
Hi Smith,
Try this: select [Measures].[Risk Value] on 0,
non empty FILTER([Vdim Curve Family].[Hierarchy].[SP Rating Group].members*[Vdim Book].[Desk].[Desk].Members,[Measures].[Risk Value]<0) on 1 from [DM]

Thanks for your response Ranjit I’ve checked this against the star schema and it is still not quite giving me what I want. I can confirm this by adding the totals for a specific set. — If I check for all negative values I with this SQL
use DM
GO
SELECT Desk, SUM(Risk_Value)
FROM olap.vTbl_Fact_MO_Mart_DLY_2007_01_08 F, olap.vdimBook B,olap.vdimCurveFamily C
WHERE F.BusinessID = B.BusinessID
AND F.MarketDataID = C.MarketDataID
AND B.Desk = ‘PRINCIPAL FINANCE’