New Server – SQL Knowledge – Low | SQL Server Performance Forums

SQL Server Performance Forum – Threads Archive

New Server – SQL Knowledge – Low

Hi all, Probably a very basic question but her goes anyway. We recently moved a SQL database form an old Dell PIII single processor server with not a lot of memory or enough disk space left for more then 1 nights backup to a new Dell Power Edge 1850 with Two 2.8 Gbyte Dual Core Processors with 4 Gig Singel bank memory and 136 Gig Disk space. The Database is around 2 gig The performance we are getting is worse than the old server, some functions are showing the good old hourglass as a regular occurence. We have run the client on the server, so eliminating network communication as the cause?, with no improvement. I am fairly new to SQL server management, I have done the MS course but it did not prepare me for this, can anyone tell me where to look for and answer? All suggestions more then welcome. Thanx Andy
FMD IT Manager
University of Reading
Start by looking at the performance monitor: %CPU, avg disk queue length, commited bytes, pages/sec, network utilization. This first step should indicate if and where you have a hardware bottleneck. Maybe you could post the results? Early morning, when I wake up,
I look like Kiss but without the makeup –Robbie Williams, Strong
I’ve just put some counters on. I am now totally confused! We have two dual core processors but the monitor sees 8 instances surely it should be 4? So this may be pointing to a config error at server level? Andy
FMD IT Manager
University of Reading
your new system has 2 processor sockets, each of which are dual core
for a total of 4 cores
each in based on the Pentium 4 (Xeon version), which supports Hyper-Threading
that is why perf counters show 8 if this system is slower than the old Pentium III, your problem is probably related to parallel execution plans
set the Max Degree of Parallelism to 1