Partitioned View Performance Question | SQL Server Performance Forums

SQL Server Performance Forum – Threads Archive

Partitioned View Performance Question

I’m fairly new to partitioned views, but am implementing one in test to see if it would be a worthy candidate for production. The test server is basically a workstation with 2 drives, one for data, one for logs. There is a fairly large table (87M rows) and a partitioned view written against multiple tables with columns matching those in the 87M row table. To mirror a typical day in production, I needed to insert about 2.5M rows into each (the big table, and the view). However, when doing so, I didn’t get the performance increase I’d expected. Inserting the 2.5M records into the 87M row table took approximately 6.5 minutes. The insert into the view took approximately 2 hours and 52 minutes. This seems absurd. The data added is heavily based on one particular date (ie; most of the data will be for one date, with maybe 1% of the data being of other dates). The tables behind the view are broken up by date. So, most of the data would have went into one table, with a small percentage going into other tables. Default Fill Factors were used, no out of the ordinary tuning done anywhere. There’s an index on the date field in the 87M row table, but that’s about it. I’m confused, any ideas?

I don’t think you can expect any performance improvement in your case. Partitioned views are best when underlying tables are distributed across multiple disk subsystems and under an SMP environment where reads/writes to each table can be processesd parallely. However, since 99% of the writes are going to the same table, I would assume it should be taking almost the same time as the inserts to the original table. Try inserting directly into the underlying table and see if the problem is in the view definition.
Good recomendation, Vkchakri.