Spreading database files | SQL Server Performance Forums

SQL Server Performance Forum – Threads Archive

Spreading database files

Let me start by saying, I am very new to SQL Server 2000. I have SQL Server Installation which uses only a "Primary File Group" to store all it’s data. I am thinking of seperating "Transaction Log", "System Objects" and "User defined objects" onto different disks. It is very easy to seperate the "Transaction Log" file.
I am trying to define "Secondary file group" and move all the "User defined objects" there. What is easiest way accomplish this task? Regards, Nirmalya
[email protected]
If you have differents physical drives, I suggest to change only the log file to other drive. Luis Martin
SQL-Server-Performance.com One of the symptoms of an approaching nervous breakdown is the belief that one’s work is terribly important
Bertrand Russell
All postings are provided “AS IS” with no warranties for accuracy.
Why are you trying to do this in the first place Nirmalya? Are you currently experiencing disk queue issues? What kind of drives (RAID, number of disks, etc) do you have for this server? MeanOldDBA
[email protected] When life gives you a lemon, fire the DBA.
The performance is an issue. I am moving onto a new hardware platform where I will have the luxury of having multiple disk volumes. The fundamentals of "performance enhancements" talks about seperating the "Transaction Log" files and put in a disk volume with RAID 10. This particular SQL Server installation is more of data retrieval application. So the database objects, I was thinking of putting in a different disk volume with RAID5. Furthermore was thinking of seperating the "System" objects from "User" objects in different disk volumes.
Of course at the end of the day, I have to look into the SQL queries which are the culprits.
But trying to cover the low level issues first. Regards, Nirmalya
[email protected]