SQL Merge Replication | SQL Server Performance Forums

SQL Server Performance Forum – Threads Archive

SQL Merge Replication

Hi, I have read the information about Merge Replication but I can’t quite understand how it works. If you have one data base go down, bring up the other database and allow updates to continue and then try to merge the two databases it says that you have to manually do the merge. Does anyone know what this means?
I think we need more information. Why do you want to do merge replication? What is your actual goal?
——————
Brad M. McGehee
Webmaster
SQL-Server-Performance.Com
I’m responding to job requirements – I’ve been a SQL DBA for about 5 years, but never actually thought I had any reason to do merge replication – so I’m reading up on it and am not sure how stable it is – have you used it?
Personally, I avoid using replication. I know others use it successfully, but I always look for other options, and there generally are. Replication, especially merge, can be complicated to set up, maintain, and especially hard to recover. The point of my questions were to find out why you wanted to do it so I could suggest an alternative. I am not familiar the specific question you asked about, do I can’t address it, but perhaps others can. But if we can know more about the job requirements, then perhaps we can offer some alternatives (if they exist).
——————
Brad M. McGehee
Webmaster
Brad, I appreciate your insights into replication because they match my feelings too – it just seems very complicated and I wonder what kind of disaster recovery you would have to do for this type of configuration. I wish I had more information about this – I’m on the bench and get interview calls about replication. I can only tell them that I haven’t done it but I’ve read about it – I was just trying to see if anyone else had used it and had some opinions about it -Thanks again -Pat