SQL performance questions from a newbie | SQL Server Performance Forums

SQL Server Performance Forum – Threads Archive

SQL performance questions from a newbie

Hi Guys!! Im a newbie programmer and just learned the basics of SQL. My boss gave me a program which I need to improve the Query performance. The query involves 4 tables and this tables contains thousands of data. I already managed to link the tables to their key fields but still the my boss demanded that it should be faster. I’m thinking it’s impossible since these tables contains huge data,Please correct me if Im wrong, but the only way to make it faster is to reduce the data in the tables.Is there anything else I can do? And guys, another question, Do I still need to link the tables in the exist subquery to the keys of the tables on the main? What I mean is this: Select
……
from table1 1,table2 2,table3 3
where 1.key = 2.field
and 2.key = 3.field
and exists(Select ‘x’ from table1 a,table2 b,table c
where a.key = b.field
b.key = c.field) Do I still need to link a’s key fields to 1’s fields so with b and c
since they are referring to the same table? I tried searching google but then I can only find basics and I believe this is advanced topic. I have limited time, can anyone help? Also if you can give me links to SQL webs for advanced topics? Thanks Guys!!
[B)]
Try: Select ….
From table1 a
Inner Join table2 b on a.id = b.id — Key field links
Inner Join table3 c on b.id2 = c.id2 — Key field links Can you perhaps paste some sample code that you are trying to optimize? Sanette SQL Developer
JustEnough Software Corporation
Walking on water and coding of a spec is easy, as long as both are frozen – A friend