sql server 2000 transaction log too large | SQL Server Performance Forums

SQL Server Performance Forum – Threads Archive

sql server 2000 transaction log too large

My company as a sql server 2000 transaction log file that is too big. I need to truncate the size of the log file. I am relatively new to a small company that does not have an assigned DBA since there are only 5 programmers. I have been working with sql server 2000 for about 6 months. I have been told by my company that I will be performing the DBA functions. I am trying to figure out what I need to do to truncate the transaction log table. I have been setup as the SA for the production data base using enterprise manager.
I do not individually have access to the production sql server database except through the SQL Server tools like enterprise manager. Is there a reason why I would need direct access to the *.ldf file except through enterprise manager? Do I need to be able to map to the production sql server? If so, why would I need to setup this link? Note: I have read the "shrinking and truncating the transaction log" with the online
help. Can you recommend to me the best way to truncate and shrink a transaction log that is too large?
I suppose you have recovery model Full.
So, how often do you backup the transaction log?
Luis Martin
SQL-Server-Performance.com One of the symptoms of an approaching nervous breakdown is the belief that one’s work is terribly important
Bertrand Russell
All postings are provided “AS IS” with no warranties for accuracy.
I am new to sql servwer 2000. From what I can tell, the databases are backed up daily.
Well, check if recovery model is full (Enterprise Manager, yourdatabase, properties,options).
If is full, you have to backup transaction log frequently, said each 30 minuts to reduce size. Check in Books on Line. Luis Martin
SQL-Server-Performance.com One of the symptoms of an approaching nervous breakdown is the belief that one’s work is terribly important