Step 1: connect to server | SQL Server Performance Forums

SQL Server Performance Forum – Threads Archive

Step 1: connect to server

I am an Access/VBA developer. I installed 2005 on my notebook. When I open the Management Studio, I am asked to connect to a server. I can find no advice anywhere as to how to accomplish this essential task. I am just trying to learn to find my way around in SQL Server 2005. Until I get past this hurdle, I can do nothing. I have a script I’m ready to run to create a database, but I can’t get there from here. Thanks, Bill R
Enter the server name which your Notebook name or period (.) if you don’t have any sql installation on your notebook…make use you select WINDOWS AUTHENTICATION and hit CONNECT…. Once connected on top lef hand side of the corner you see NEW QUERY button to open the query window to run tsql commands… You can Books Online to learn more about it… Start/all programs/Microsoft sql server/Books online
MohammedU.
SQL-Server-Performance.com
The user name says "BILLS_TOSHIBA/BillR"
Server type: Database Engine
Server name: blank (no options in the list)
Authentication: Windows Authentication I’ve tried entering "BILLS_TOSHIBA" for the server name but that didn’t work. I’m not sure I understand what you want me to do to fix this. Thanks, Bill R
Are you trying to connect to the sql server locally on the box?
BILLS_TOSHIBA can be server name if BillR is local account…
If BillR is domain account then BILLS_TOSHIBA can be domain name… First of all you need to find the server name from your server team or who ever it is… other wise you don’t know… MohammedU.
Try (LOCAL) as the server name. Also make sure the instance is actually running – in the old versions we used to have a SQL Server Service Manager icon on the system tray, not sure how it is with SQL 2005.
I am not part of an enterprise. To reiterate: