Views | SQL Server Performance Forums

SQL Server Performance Forum – Threads Archive

Views

I got a view that joins 7 tables. Would spliting the view increase performance. For instance createing a view with only 3 tables and then joining the view with the other 4 tables, or does it even matter.
if you look at the execution plan, you will see that sql server effectively inlines views (are you a c programmer?)
basically, the view is for your convenience,
sql server will convert it to the full join with all required tables for your query.
if your view has 7 tables, but only 5 are required for a specific query, sql won’t use the other 2
Thanks Joe, by the way I really found your articles on query execution plans interesting I spent all night reading them.
By the way why did you ask if I was a C programmer???
one of the options in c programming is to inline a function at compile, instead of actually implementing a function call,
so when i used the term "inline", it would have a clear meaning to a c person, but other people may not understand,
anyways, sql will replace the view with the query from the view
So, am I right in saying a View is totally free.. in terms of performance in other words, it adds nothing to the performance load or using a view will not (atleast generally) degrade performance at all Sunny Kanaparthy is a software developer with the University of New Orleans, LA, USA.
In articles tab, there is some about views.
One of them: http://www.sql-server-performance.com/indexed_views.asp Luis Martin
SQL-Server-Performance.com